At each bi-annual symposium ISARA awards the Peter Burrough or James Smith medal, alternating between the two medals at each symposium. The selection process for the medal in question will begin following a Spatial Accuracy symposium, with the nomination period closing six months before the next symposium. Nominations must be submitted to the Chair of the Medal Committee. The ISARA Steering Committee, upon the recommendation of the Medal Committee, may choose not to award a medal at any given symposium. The decision of the ISARA Steering Committee is final.